The Eastern Cape is a province of South Africa. Its capital is Bisho, though the two largest cities are Port Elizabeth and East London. The province was formed in 1994 out of the Xhosa homelands of Transkei and Ciskei, together with the eastern portion of the Cape Province.

The Eastern Cape was landing place and home of the 1820 settlers, the central and eastern part of the province is the traditional home of the Xhosa people.